Separate 2.4 vs 5ghz SSID's

• Question
  • Updated 1 month ago
I'm replacing 3-4 Pakedge WX-1's in my home with Unleashed R710's.  I want to use the same SSID's so that I don't have to reconnect a gazillion devices.  I'm a step above novice when it comes to networking and typically know what I need to know to perform my job.  This one has me stumped.  How to I create separates, or can I just create 2 in the Ruckus setup that match the names and security of the two SSID's I'm running now?  Thanks in advance.
Photo of Rich428

Rich428

• 5 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes

Posted 1 month ago

Photo of Syamantak Omer

Syamantak Omer, Official Rep

• 357 Posts
  • 129 Reply Likes
Hi Rich,

Creating same SSID on Ruckus as your old setup may not help. Though new SSID name will be same but devices will not connect automatically and you have to connect them at least once, so that devices can remember the network settings for future connections.

Now come to the main query, creating 2.4 vs 5 G SSID. In Unleashed, when you create a new SSID, it gives you option whether you want to deploy on both bands (2.4 and 5 G) or just one them.

Configuration path: Unleashed GUI >> WLAN (Create new or edit existing WLAN settings) >> Advanced options >> Radio Control >> Enable WLAN on (Options are, All radios/2.4 G or 5 G).

If you choose All radios, then same SSID name will broadcast on 5 and 2.4 G radio.

For more configuration help, you may refer the user guide.

https://support.ruckuswireless.com/documents/2599-ruckus-unleashed-200-7-ga-user-guide/download

https://support.ruckuswireless.com/documents/3123-ruckus-unleashed-200-8-ga-user-guide/download

Regards,
Syamantak Omer
(Edited)
Photo of Rich428

Rich428

• 5 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
I did find the setting. A little poking around and I was able to find the setting. Thank you.

As for the SSID’s being cloned, everything seems to be okay without any further attention. How would I know? Just of a device seems to be acting up?