Rate Limiting

• Question
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • Answered
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: old

I work in a school district and was wondering if anyone a good starting point to set uplink and downlink on rate limiting?
We run a ZD 3000 with a 7982 for AP's. We are going to 1:1 next year and dont want one or two students hogging bandwith, or teachers for that matter.

Thanks
Photo of Marty

Marty

• 8 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 6 years ago

Photo of Srini

Srini, Employee

• 18 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Under Configure > WLANs > Create/Edit your WLAN >Advanced Options > you will find the option called Rate Limiting. You can set this to moderate range so that everyone can consume bandwidth only at a specific rate.

You can set upload and download Limits to this specific WLAN which varies from 0.10Mbps to 20.0Mbps.

Hope this helps!
Photo of RTSCTS

RTSCTS

• 4 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Rate limiting each client increases the amount of time needed to complete data transfer (assuming the air-interface is not the bottleneck). Unless a scheduling method such as air-time fairness is used (where clients with good link quality are given a slight advantage), the result will be increased contention for the channel and more rapidly diminishing performance as the number of concurrent users increases. A "hog" will want to consume a lot of data whether rate-limited or not. How then does Ruckus recommend reducing the amount of time that hog is contending for channel access?
Photo of Keith - Pack Leader

Keith - Pack Leader

• 860 Posts
  • 52 Reply Likes
This is a good point but I think dependent on how we actually implement the rate limiting. Given our focus on performance, I'd be surprised if this were the result. I'll see if we can get a developer to chime in.
Photo of Bill Kish

Bill Kish, Official Rep